Today’s Tunes – Tuesday, 3/28

Welcome to Today’s Tunes, a new feature I’m starting where I’ll be posting a collection of a couple songs that I’m really enjoying on that particular day. There’s no criteria for the songs, these can be any genre, old or new, doesn’t matter. So without further ado, here’s what I’m listening to today.

**Disclaimer: all links are to Spotify, Youtube embedded for the lazy

“Timberwolves” (feat. Asher Roth) – Finding Novyon, J. Kelr

Silky smooth song I just discovered the other day from Minneapolis rapper, Finding Novyon, and produced by one half of Blended Babies, J. Kelr. I’m a huge fan of Blended Babies production and this song has a jazzy feel to it that makes you want to run it back right when it finishes. Timberwolves aren’t winning a championship any time soon but this song bangs. If you’re into this one, check out ““Whole Fade” (feat. Chuck Inglish)

“Betrayed By The Game” – Dance Gavin Dance

I’ll be honest, Dance Gavin Dance is one of those post-hardcore bands who has been around for years but I never really got into for no particular reason. “Betrayed By The Game” popped up on my Spotify and I’m just now getting in to the entire Frozen One album. Similar sound to Circa Survive and Saosin. If you’re in to this one, check out “Frozen One”.

“Grapefruit” – Aaron West & The Roaring Twenties

This one is a little depressing but so fucking good at the same time. Also if the vocals sound familiar, this is the solo project from The Wonder Years’ lead singer, Dan Campbell. You know this dude has some shit going on with lyrics like “Hey, Holy Ghost, Why’d you leave me? Where’d you go? Right when I fucking need you, I’m all alone.” If you’re in to this one, check out “Our Apartment”.

“Hole” – Royal Blood

Just some straight-forward blues-rock for that ass on this Tuesday. Similar hard hitting sound as bands like Highly Suspect and Band of Skulls. If you’re in to this one, check out “Out Of The Black”.

 

Leave a Reply

