Today’s Tunes – Wednesday, April 5th

Welcome to Today’s Tunes where I’ll be posting a collection of a couple songs that I’m really enjoying on that particular day. There’s no criteria for the songs, these can be any genre, old or new, doesn’t matter. Here are today’s tunes (links open in Spotify, Soundcloud/Youtube embedded for the lazy)

“Bada Bing! Wit’ a Pipe!” – Four Year Strong

Been on a big hardcore/pop-punk kick lately and in my opinion nobody does that mix of heavy riffs and melodic vocals than Four Year Strong. Rise or Die Trying is a masterpiece in my opinion, and after a decade these guys are going just as strong as they ever had. I legitimately recommend checking out FYS’s entire discography, but a couple stand out tracks for me are “Beatdown in the Key of Happy”“Find My Way Back”, and “I Hold Myself in Contempt”.

“Huzzah” – Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire

Mr. Muthafuckin eXquire, despite having one of the best names in hip-hop, is unfortunately another guy in a long line of NY rappers whose careers have fizzled recently for whatever reason. With that said, don’t let this song come on your shuffle while walking down the street or some unlucky pedestrians might catch a stiff shoulder to the body. The bass in this song knocks so hard and has a somewhat dark vibe to it similar to early A$AP Rocky. There’s also a ridiculous remix to this track which features Danny Brown and El-P, check it out here.

“Dirty Work” – Steely Dan

Just an absolute classic song here that popped up on my shuffle today. If you’re not familiar with this song or Steely Dan, I won’t crucify you, just go and listen to Can’t Buy A Thrill in it’s entirety. Thank me later.

Leave a Reply

