Lollapalooza 2020 Officially Cancelled

 

Not that this should come as a surprise to anyone, but Chicago’s 2020 Lollapalooza has now been officially cancelled. This comes a few weeks after Bonnaroo announced their cancellation, as well as Coachella postponing until October.

Although it was definitely anticipated, cancellations like these are a bummer for fans and artists alike. For Lollapalooza specifically, you had highly anticipated reunions by Rage Against The Machine and My Chemical Romance. You also had smaller bands like Soccer Mommy, Matt Maeson, White Reaper, and plenty others looking to use this year’s festival circuit to really break and become household names. Lolla is still planning on doing some type of weekend-long virtual event, but I don’t think asking people to stream something during the day on a weekend in the heart of Summer is a a recipe for success. I’ve also already made my thoughts on virtual concerts well known.

Austin City Limits is know the last remaining of the big 4 festivals to have not cancelled or postponed their dates. If you ask me, neither ACL or Coachella are going to happen in October. I hope I’m wrong.

 

Leave a comment